TotalBusiness.com / Traders World Monthly -
"Photo Approval" email
30th January 2006
An email has been circulating for some months now,
purporting to be from a website called TotalBusiness.com.
The pitch of the email is very similar to the following:
From: TotalBusiness [editor65@totalbusiness.com] Sent: 31 January 2006 00:32
To: [removed]
Subject: approval deadline
Hello,
We have been trying to get through to you on the phone today but you must be out at work, your photograph was forwarded to us as part of an article we are publishing for our February edition of Total Business Monthly. Can you check over the format and get back to us with your approval or any changes? If the picture is not to your liking then please send a preferred one. We've attached the photo with the article here.
Kind regards,
Jamie Andrews Editor www.TotalBusiness.com
********************************************** The Professional Development Institute **********************************************
or alternatively,
From:
"J Andrews" <jamiez@tradersworld.com> To:
[removed] Date: Mon, 30 Jan 2006 15:20:00 -0800 Subject:
Photo
Hello,
Your
photograph has reached editing stage as part of
an article we are publishing for our February edition
of Traders World Monthly. Can you check over the
format and get back to us with your approval or
any changes?
If
the picture is not to your liking then please send
a preferred one. We've attached the photo with
the article here.
Kind
regards,
Jamie
Andrews Editor TradersWorld
*************************************** The
Professional Brokers Essential ***************************************
Attached to the message is a file, typically a ZIP
archive or executable with a name similar to article.zip
or Photo and article.exe.
This is not a legitimate email, and the attachment
itself is a dangerous "trojan horse" - a virus-like
application designed to open up your PC to hackers and
steal personal data. In this case, we submitted the
attachment to VirusTotal.com
which came up with several possible matches.
This appears to be a variant of the Stinx-Q
/ Breplibo
/ Breplibot
trojan. At the time of writing, many popular anti-virus
applications cannot detect this trojan.
TotalBusiness.com appears to be completely
unrelated to this trojan message (although they do have
a Spamhaus
Listing at present for posting allegedly unsolicited
newsletters) and an innocent party. Similarly, Tradersworld.com
are not related to this email in any way, and their
name is being abused by the spammers.
If you
have opened the attachment that came with this message
then it is very
important
that you seek help from a qualified person in order
to disinfect your system. You should switch off your
PC until it can be disinfected, as the attacker has
the ability to remote control it.
|