Quickdimer.com & E-expressprocessing.com "Account Locked" Emails
5th October 2005 - updated 8th October 2005
Warning: The quickdimer.com & e-expressprocessing.com sites will attempt
to infect your PC if you visit it using Internet Explorer.
If your computer is not fully-up-to date in terms of
patching then it is quite possible that your PC will
be infected with spyware. This spyware will most likely
steal your passwords and confidential information, and
also may turn your PC into a "Spam Zombie".
Visitors are tricked into visiting the quickdimer.com
site by an email similar to the following:
Date: 5 Oct 2005 11:49:29 -0000
Received: from soot@gte.net by [munged] by uid 1002 with qmail-scanner-1.22
( Clear:RC:0(200.146.150.30):.
Processed in 4.097554 secs); 05 Oct 2005 11:48:33 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO 200-146-150-30.rev.easyband.com.br) (200.146.150.30)
by 192.168.147.19 with SMTP; 5 Oct 2005 11:48:29 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO pest) (192.168.120.30)
by 200-146-150-30.rev.easyband.com.br with SMTP; Wed, 5 Oct 2005 09:47:06 -0200 To: [munged]
From: "Sibylla Anthony" <soot@gte.net>
Subject: NOTIFICATION. YOUR ACCOUNT LOCKED.
Dear customer,
Sorry. Your account was temporally locked.
The credit card transaction was declined.
This is an email receipt for your recent payment you just made.
The system reported the following error:
KEEP CRD DECLINE NOT AUTHORIZED
Your receipt #2240076354
Billed To:
H WALL
14 Church Way
Basingstoke, RG24 9SU
Hampshire Order Number: L06639795
Receipt Date: 03/10/05
Order Total: GBP 108.04
Billed To: Visa
Information regarding your personal information can be
viewed at http://quickdimer.com/billing/order/order110902.html
This site is powered by the SecureTrading payment system
which means that your credit card details are fully encrypted
using the most sophisticated e-payment software.
The "14 Church Way" address
is fake. There is no such address. Not such credit card
transaction has taken place. The entire purpose of the
email is to get you to click on the link and infect
your PC.
The e-expressprocessing.com email is
very similar:
From: Billing <billing@e-expressprocessing.com> Subject:
Your Account Has Been Suspended
Dear customer,
Sorry. Your account was temporally
locked.The credit card transaction was declined. This
is an email receipt for your recent payment you
just made.
The system reported the following
error: KEEP CRD DECLINE NOT AUTHORIZED
Receipt #4650097379
Billed To: R HALL 20
North Way Basingstoke, RG24 9SU Hampshire
Order Number: YL40084268 Receipt Date: 05/10/05 Total
Amount: GBP 201.06 Billed To: Visa
Information regarding your
personal information can be viewed login in (Your
usercode is 86435076 Your
passcode is 3296133)
http://www.e-expressprocessing.com
This site is powered by the
SecureTrading payment system which means that your
credit card details are fully encrypted using the
most sophisticated e-payment software.
If you have visited this website, we
recommend that you scan your PC thoroughly with an up-to-date
virus scanner. We recommend ZoneAlarm Security Suite
as a good, comprehensive package. Another good (and
currently free) package is Microsoft
AntiSpyware. Be aware that any passwords you have
entered since visiting the site may be compromised -
if in doubt, seek the help of an IT professional to
disinfect your system. Using a browser such as Firefox
instead of Internet Explorer can also help protect you
against attacks.
For the technically minded, the exploit
code looks like this (we have rendered it as a graphic
to prevent false positives from virus scanners):

The domain registration details for
quickdimer.com are
no doubt fake:
Domain
Name: quickdimer.com
Registrant
Contact: Peitao
Ting pting1000@yahoo.com Peitao
Ting 400
Arlington Way Menlo
Park, ca 94025 US +1.6504731278
Administrative
Contact: Peitao
Ting pting1000@yahoo.com Peitao
Ting 400
Arlington Way Menlo
Park, ca 94025 US +1.6504731278
Technical
Contact: Peitao
Ting pting1000@yahoo.com Peitao
Ting 400
Arlington Way Menlo
Park, ca 94025 US +1.6504731278
Billing
Contact: Peitao
Ting pting1000@yahoo.com Peitao
Ting 400
Arlington Way Menlo
Park, ca 94025 US +1.6504731278
Record
created on 2005-09-27 05:53:47. Record
expires on 2006-09-27 05:53:47.
Domain
servers in listed order:
ns1.dreamhost.com ns2.dreamhost.com ns3.dreamhost.com
The site is currently hosted on 205.196.218.73,
a server belonging to New Dream Network, LLC
(email abuse -at- dreamhost.com). It appears
to be a server shared with several innocent parties.
For e-expressprocessing.com the
registration details are:
Registrant
Contact: Joy
Chang janejazz@yahoo.com Joy
Chang 40182
Lucinda Ct. Fremont,
CA 94539 US +1.5103648926 Administrative
Contact: Joy
Chang janejazz@yahoo.com Joy
Chang 40182
Lucinda Ct. Fremont,
CA 94539 US +1.5103648926 Technical
Contact: Joy
Chang janejazz@yahoo.com Joy
Chang 40182
Lucinda Ct. Fremont,
CA 94539 US +1.5103648926 Billing
Contact: Joy
Chang janejazz@yahoo.com Joy
Chang 40182
Lucinda Ct. Fremont,
CA 94539 US +1.5103648926 Record
created on 2005-10-03 01:38:29. Record
expires on 2006-10-03 01:38:29.
Domain
servers in listed order:
ns1.dreamhost.com ns2.dreamhost.com ns3.dreamhost.com
Site is hosted on 205.196.214.115
which is again part of New Dream Network, LLC.
|